University Sustainability

Defining Sustainability since 1899

Energy Summit 2017 - Working Agenda

Energy Summit Agenda (PDF)

Monday, July 10
  • Registration
    9:00am - 1:00pm
    Plemmons Student Union International Hall 4th

    Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts

    Holmes Convocation Center
  • Check-In
    9:00am- 2:00pm
    Mountaineer Residence Hall

    7:00pm -11:00pm
    Mountaineer Residence Hall
  • Opening Session
    • Welcome to Appalachian
      Dr. Lee F. Ball Jr., Director, University Sustainability
    • Speaker Introduction
      Ged Moody, Special Assistant to the Chancellor in Sustainability
    • NC Clean Energy
      Secretary Michael Regan, NC Department of Environmental Quality
    • Speaker Introduction
      Dr. Sue Edwards, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
    • Defining a New Leadership Model for the 21st Century
      Leith Sharp, Director, Executive Education for Sustainability Leadership, Harvard University
    • Speaker Introduction
      Dr. Brian Raichle, Chair, Department of Sustainable Technology and the Built Environment
    • Panel Discussion
      Amory Lovins, Chief Scientist, Rocky Mountain Institute, Rushang Shah, UNC Charlotte ’17, Emery Kiefer, North Carolina State University ‘17
    • Wild Turkey Award
      Mike O’Connor, Director, Physical Plant, Ged Moody
    • Logistics
      Dr. Sue Edwards
    3:00pm - 5:00pm
    Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts
  • Opening Reception
    5:30pm - 7:00pm
    Holmes Convocation Center
  • Keynote Event w/ Gina McCarthy
    • Welcome
      Chancellor Sheri N. Everts
    • Keynote Introduction
      Carla Ramsdell, Senior Lecturer
    • Keynote Presentation
      Gina McCarthy, Former Head of the EPA
    • Armchair Discussion
      Gina McCarthy, Amory Lovins, Ashish Virmani, NCSU PhD. Candidate, Dr. Jeff Ramsdell, Moderator
    7:30pm - 9:00pm
    Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts

Tuesday, July 11
  • Breakfast
    7:00am- 8:00am
    Plemmons Student Union Parkway Ballroom
  • Plenary Session
    • Welcome and Introduction
      Dr. Sue Edwards
    • Stress Test Ahead: Democracy and climate change
      Dr. David Orr, Paul Sears Distinguished Professor of Environmental Studies and Politics, Oberlin College
    • Policy Drivers of Clean Energy
      Ivan Urlaub, Executive Director, NCSEA
    • The Business of Change: The keys to traction in the clean energy industry
      Jamie Hager, Green Building Specialist, Southern Energy Management
    • Accelerating Change
      Mike O’Connor
    • North Carolina Integrated Electric Utility Research Laboratory
      Dr. Jeff Ramsdell, Interim Vice Provost for Research
    • Roller Coasters, Networks, and Scaled Climate Action
      Tim Carter, President, Second Nature
    • Student Highlight: Clean Synergy
      Paul Safrit, East Carolina University
    • Poster Session Logistics
      Dr. Jeff Ramsdell
    8:30am- 11:00am
    Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts
  • Lunch
    • Poster Session
    11:00am- 1:00pm
    Plemmons Student Union Parkway Ballroom, Plemmons Student Union Solarium
  • Working Group Breakout Session
    • Academic Integration
      Calloway/McCrae Peak, Room 137 A&B
    • High Performance Campus Design
      Roan Mountain, Room 122
    • Campus-Based Energy Efficiency
      Linville Falls, Room 226
    • Finance, Regulatory, and Energy Generation
      Beacon Heights, Room 417
    • Transportation-Oriented Opportunities
      Three Top Mountain, Room 169
    • Zero Waste/Waste Reduction
      Attic Window, Room 137 C
    1:00pm - 4:00pm
    Plemmons Student Union (Various)
  • Evening Reception
    4:30pm - 6:00pm
    Plemmons Student Union Parkway Ballroom
  • Keynote Event w/ Majora Carter
    • Welcome
      Provost Darrell Kruger
    • Keynote Introduction
      Dr. Vachel Miller, Program Coordinator, Higher Education (MA)
    • Keynote Presentation
      Majora Carter, Peabody Award winning radio broadcaster
    • Q&A
      Majora Carter
    6:30pm - 8:00pm
    Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts

Wednesday, July 12
  • Breakfast
    7:00am - 8:00am
    Plemmons Student Union Parkway Ballroom
  • Plenary Session
    • Welcome
      Dr. Lee F. Ball Jr.
    • Recognizing Jerry Marshall’s Service
      Mike O’Connor
    • The Changing Role of Buildings
      Chris Halpin, President, Celtic Energy
    • Military Veterans: An untapped resource for clean energy deployment
      Dan Eddinger, CEO, Field Vets
    • NC Department of Environmental Quality Updates
      Reid Conway, Senior Energy Specialist
      Matt James, Recycling Specialist
    • Financial Models for Energy Efficiency
      Carol Rosenfeld, Senior Project Director, Environmental Finance Center, UNC Chapel Hill
    • Rethinking Education on a Changing Planet
      Erik Assadourian, State of the World Editor, Worldwatch Institute
    • 2016 Grant Recipient Reports
      Jay Blauser, Director, Sustainability, UNC Pembroke
      TBD, UNC Asheville
    • 2017 Grant Awards
      Presented by Jay Blauser
    • Poster Awards
      Dr. Jeff Ramsdell, Janet Miller, Appalachian Energy Center
    • Student Highlight: Integrated sustainable building design
      Sushant Shetgeri, North Carolina State University Graduate Student
    • Closing Comments
      Dr. Lee F. Ball Jr.
    8:45am - 11:30am
    Schaefer Center for the Performing Arts
  • Working Groups/Lunch
    12:00pm - 1:30pm
    Plemmons Student Union (Rooms TBD)
  • Adjourn