# Appalachian Energy Summit

APPALACHIAN STATE UNIVERSITY

# 2019 Full Program Agenda July 29-31 "Creating a Resilient Energy Future"

#### **MONDAY, JULY 29**

1:30pm - 5:00pm Registration Valborg Theatre 7:00pm - 8:00pm Registration Valborg Theater 11:00am - 2:00pm Check-In Living Learning Center 7:00pm - 11:00pm Check-In Living Learning Center

#### 2:30pm - 5:00pm Opening Session

- Chancellor Sheri Everts
- Lee F. Ball Jr., Chief Sustainability Officer, Appalachian State University
- Dr. Tammy Kowalczyk, Interim Director, Research Institute for Environment, Energy, and Economics
- Jeremy Tarr, Policy Advisor for Environment, Energy and Transportation, Office of Governor Roy Cooper, North Carolina
- Dr. Tammy Kowalczyk
- Todd Roberts, Chancellor, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics
- Dr. Tammy Kowalczyk
- Scott Tew, Executive Director Center for Energy Efficiency & Sustainability at Ingersoll Rand
- Dr. Tammy Kowalczyk
- Zoë Gamble Hanes, Energy Attorney, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP

#### 5:30pm - 7:00pm Opening Reception

#### 7:30pm - 9:00pm Keynote Event\*

- Lee F. Ball Jr., Chief Sustainability Officer, Appalachian State University
- Amory Lovins, Chief Scientist, Rocky Mountain Institute
- Jeff Ramsdell, Professor and Faculty in Residence for Innovation Campus, Appalachian State University
- Amory Lovins
- Sushma Masemore, Deputy Assistant Secretary for **Environment & State Energy Director**
- Representative John Szoka, NC General Assembly Representative, Chairman of the Energy and Public Utilities Committee and Co-Chair of the Joint Legislative Commission on Energy Policy
  \* This event is by invitation only for summit attendees.

### Valborg Theatre

Welcome to Appalachian

Speaker Introduction

Speaker Introduction

Speaker Introduction

Speaker Introduction

## Plemmons Student Union, Parkway Ballroom

#### **Valborg Theatre**

Welcome/Speaker Introduction

Keynote Speaker

Panel Moderator

Panel Members

#### **TUESDAY, JULY 30**

7:00am - 8:30am **Breakfast & Poster Judging** Plemmons Student Union -Parkway Ballroom & Solarium 8:00am - 5:00pm 2nd Floor, Plemmons Student Union Registration 8:30am - 12:30pm Working Groups & Student Summit **Plemmons Student Union** 12:30pm - 1:45pm Lunch & Poster Viewing Parkway Ballroom & Solarium 2:00pm - 6:00pm Plenary Session **Valborg Theatre** • Lee F. Ball, Jr. Welcome & Speaker Introduction • David Orr, Paul Sears Distinguished Professor of Environmental Studies and Politics, Oberlin College Lee F. Ball, Jr. Panel Introduction UNC Sustainability Panel, Moderator • Miriam Tripp, Special Projects Officer, UNC System Office Panel Members • Kathryn Pohlman, Chief Sustainability Officer, **UNC** Wilmington • Cindy Shea, Director of Sustainability, UNC Chapel Hill • Lindsay Batchelor, Interim Sustainability Director, NC State University • Lauren Bishop, Chief Sustainability Officer, Western Carolina University • Dr. Jamie Russell, Director, Appalachian Energy Center Speaker Introduction • Sushma Masemore, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Environment & State Energy Director Dr. Jamie Russell Speaker Introduction NC Utility Savings • Reid Conway, Senior Energy Specialist, NC DEQ Jamie Russell Speaker Introduction NC Recycling • Emily Burnette, Environmental Specialist, NCDEQ Speaker Introduction • Dr. Jamie Russell • Steve Kalland, Exec. Director, NC Clean Energy Tech Center • Steffey Guigou, Student Summit Coordinator, Senior, Community and Regional Planning major • Sarah Sutton, Ph.D. Student, UNC Chapel Hill Poster Awards • Dr. Jamie Russell, Director, Appalachian Energy Center & Janet Miller, Outreach Manager, Appalachian Energy Center • Lee F. Ball, Jr. Closing Comments **WEDNESDAY, JULY 31** 7:00am - 8:30am Breakfast Plemmons Student Union -**Parkway Ballroom** 9:00am - Noon **Post-Summit Tours & Meetings** 

Sustainable Campus Gardens at AppState AppState Compost Initiative and Facility

Beech Mtn. Small Wind Research and Demonstration Site

Renewable Energy Initiative Campus Systems

The Nexus Project

Leaders: Jeremy Ferrell & Dr. Ok-Youn Yu

Leader: Johnny Bumgardner Leader: Cullen Beasley Leader: Max Alff

Leaders: Jim Dees & Leila Jackson